Federal Reserve Holidays 2021

The following is the standard holiday schedule for the Federal Reserve System in US.

Federal Reserve Bank Holidays 2021
No Date Day Holiday
1 January 1 Friday New Year’s Day
2 January 18 Monday Birthday of Martin Luther King, Jr.
3 January 20 Wednesday Inauguration Day *
4 February 15 Monday Washington’s Birthday
5 May 31 Monday Memorial Day
6 July 5 Monday Independence Day(Observed Day)
7 September 6 Monday Labor Day
8 October 11 Monday Columbus Day
9 November 11 Thursday Veteran’s Day
10 November 25 Thursday Thanksgiving Day
11 December 24 Friday Christmas (Observed Day)

Note –

  • For holidays falling on Saturday, Federal Reserve Banks and Branches will be open the preceding Friday. For holidays falling on Sunday, all Federal Reserve Banks and Branches will be closed the following Monday.
  • *This holiday is desginated as “Inauguration Day” in section 6103(c) of title 5 of the United States Code, which is the law that specifies holidays for Federal employees. Federal employees in the Washington, DC area are entitled to a holiday on the day a President is inaugurated, January 20 for each fourth year after 1965. Though other institutions such as state and local governments and private businesses may use other names, it is our policy to always refer to holidays by the names designated in the law.